First Year (The Black Mage #1) by Rachel E. Carter

This is actually Rachel E. Carter’s first book. This fact will not effect my review, but I found it very interesting!

img_0029Goodreads Rating: 4.4 Stars

Description: Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice –pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage…

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail–first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames? 

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

You know when you find a book that hooks you instantly? A book that grabs you and just refuses to let go? A book that makes you cancel all your plans for the day and read until you can’t see straight? First year is that book. Or at least it was for me.

I love finding the hidden gems. I have to thank Amazon for this one. I am a horrible book-lover because I definitely judge books on their covers. I came across it and almost kept scrolling, but I thought the picture was interesting. As soon as I read the description though, I knew this was my kind of book!

I read the entire thing in one day and I am already dying for more. I love when the ending of a book catches me off guard. The entire book I thought I knew what was going to happen and I was wrong! Luckily, there are four books in The Black Mage series.

Ryiah was an amazing character. I love having characters that you just can’t help but vote for. She was strong, stubborn and very determined.

However, I have a soft for the bad boys. Darren was the icing on top of the cake for me. Without him, this book would have been an epic fail.

While the Goodreads rating is a 4.4, I give this book a perfect 5! I highly recommend this book to everyone!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s